The sound of Pjusk is inspired by the harsh Norwegian weather and wild landscape. At the center point is an old cabin high up in the mountains. This is where most of the music of Pjusk is made – framed by snowy peaks and the sound of cold streams.

The distant, icy ambient music in shades of pale blues and greys evokes loneliness, time and landscape with a sound that stretches slowly and patiently through the air, connecting the warmly lit cabin and the polar environs right outside the door. To listen to Pjusk is to sit quietly in an endless night.

Valldal cabin
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Pjusk: Jostein Dahl Gjelsvik - Rune Sagevik (2004 - 2020)
Home label: 12k (US) > Visit page
Label manager: Taylor Deupree
Label mates: Ryuichi Sakamoto, Marcus Fischer, Marsen Jules, Janek Schaefer, FourColor > Read more

Album Releases
  • 2023 - Svev - with Arovane, Polar Seas Recordings (US)
  • 2022 - Sentrifuge, Somewherecold (US)
  • 2022 - Salt og Vind, 12k (US)
  • 2014 - Solstøv, 12k (US)
  • 2014 - Drowning in the sky (with Sleep Orchestra),  Dronarivm (RU)
  • 2012 - Tele, Glacier Movements (IT)
  • 2010 - Sval, 12k (US)
  • 2007 - Sart, 12k (US)
Releases on DiscogsEPs on Bandcamp
Career Highlights
  • 2019 - Live Gdansk, Poland - Drone Noise Ambient Festival
  • 2017 - Nordic Music Days, London - featured composer
  • 2016 - Japan Tour - Tokyo/Niigata - live / collab Yui Onodera
  • 2014 - Album collaboration jazz trumpeter Kåre Nymark Jr.
  • 2013 - Ghostly International (label) - compilation
  • 2013 - Live in Barcelona alongside Mika Vainio, Yui Onodera
  • 2010 - Tracks featured on the American documentary Cultures of resistance (Iara Lee)

Press Photos

Click to open in new tab.

Press photo for webPress photo for print